Frequently Asked Questions

Security and privacy

Zyl will NEVER EVER transfer, sell or use your photos. They are YOUR photos, and you have a total control on them.

Where are stored my photos?

The photos displayed in the Galery section remain on your phone and on your phone only. The photos added in shared Zyls that you create or join need to be temporarily stored on servers to allow the sharing between friends. The servers are in Europe and follow the legal rules (GDPR) regarding the personal data storage.

Is it completely free? and unlimited?

Yes it is! Unlimited space for you and your friends, and completely free! How do we manage to exist? We are backed by awesome investors who believe in Zyl and the fact that our memories have so many emotions to provide. Enjoy!

Why use Zyl?

Zyl is the app that enables you to rediscover forgotten photos in both your phone and your friends' ones.

Let's be honest, we only share 1% of the photos we take and don't do anything with the 99% remaining.

Everyday, Zyl selects for you ONE meaningful memory hidden in your phone and makes you relive it.

And that's when the magic happens: when you share it to your friends who spent holidays in Hawaii with you 5 years ago or who celebrated your birthday with you last year, they'll be able to enhance this memory with their photos of the same moment.

Zyl is the way to (re)discover a moment, share and feel nostalgia with your friends EVERYDAY!

What is the pace of memories discovery?

Zyl make you rediscover 1 memory per day. Not 2, not 3, 1! Why? We prefer that you open 1 time per day the app with the aim to have a great experience rather than several times per day to help you pass the time. There are other apps for that purpose :)

What is a zyl?

Beyond being the name of the app, zyl also stands for "memory"

How do you find my best memories?

When you launch Zyl, it analyses your photos (localy on the device) in order to find the most emotional ones. What does it mean? Our algorithms are able to score your photo from 1 to 10, 1 being a photo potentialy beautiful but without emotional meaning (a landscape or a utility photo for example) whereas 10 can represent a blurry photo that can generate lots of emotional reactions regarding what it represents (party with friends at 3am or the birth of your first child)

When use Zyl?

Zyl can be use anytime, anywhere.

Can I share my memories with my friends?

Sure and that's the whole point! You probably have photos from life moments with your friends that they never saw, and vice versa. Zyl works well in 3 steps.

First step : you discover your memory of the day

Second step : you share it with your friends to make them laugh, to surprise them ou to show them you care

Third step : your friends discover your memory of the day and can react (with emojis) or can also complete the memory with their photos from the same moment

Can i change my zyl’s name?

Of course. Go into your zyl and tap on the actual name, a pop-up will appears allowing you to modify the name.

Can i delete my zyl?

Of course. Go to your Zyl at the bottom of the page, a "Delete" button can be use to do so.

What about my pictures if i leave a zyl ?

The pictures that you share in a zyl will not be delete from the other’s phones when you will leave it.

I left a zyl by accident!

Ask nicely to someone who is still inside to reinvite you, and voilà!